News & Events

Event Calendar

2018 Spring Flex Traditional 4/10 - 5/15

The CASA Flex Training consists of 8 in-person 3-hour classes, 5 online classes, and 3 hours of courtroom observation completed over a 6-week cycle. You must finish all training and observation within the 6 weeks, and all background checks must be completed and cleared in order to be sworn in as a CASA.

Spring Flex Training: April 10 – May 15, 6:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Tues., April 10: In-Person - Mandatory Class Introduction

By Mon., April 16: Complete Online Session 1: Getting Started; Introduction to Child Welfare

Tues., April 17: In-Person – The Role of the CASA Volunteer; Introduction to Child Abuse and Neglect

By Mon., April 23: Complete Online Session 2: Strengths and Risks

Tues., April 24: In-Person – Family Strengths; Introducing Yourself as a CASA; Greene Case Study

By Mon., April 30: Complete Online Session 3: Cultural Competence and Disproportionality

Tues., May 1: In-Person – Court Reports, The Amarillo Case

Thurs., May 3: In-Person – Commercially Sexually Exploited Children (CSEC)

By Mon., May 7: Complete Online Session 4: Achieving Permanence

Tues., May 8: In-Person – Child Development; Older Youth; The Brown Case

Thurs., May 10: In-Person –Juvenile Dependency Team Panel Discussion

By Mon., May 14: Complete Online Session 5: Wrapping Up – The Redd Case

Tues., May 15: In-Person – Redd Case Debrief, CASA Panel

Additional Training Expectations

Courtroom Observation: 3 Hours of Courtroom Observation to be completed on a Monday during training. A sign-up sheet will be available at the first In-Person class.
Swearing-In Ceremony: Monday, May 21, 2018 at 12:00 pm
Attend this ceremony to take your volunteer oath of appointment after completing the training. The ceremony is held at the Juvenile Courthouse at 4353 E. Vineyard Ave., Oxnard. Please join us at the office immediately following the swearing-in for a celebratory luncheon. You are welcome to bring one guest.
Continuing Education: You will be required to complete 12 hours of Continuing Education each calendar year that you are an active volunteer. We offer a variety of trainings to help volunteers complete this requirement.

Download a pdf copy of this schedule.