News & Events

Event Calendar

2018 Spring Traditional Training 5/29 - 6/28

The CASA Traditional Training consists of 10 in-person 3.5-hour classes, reading with some online activities prior to each class, and 3 hours of courtroom observation completed over a 5-week cycle. You must finish all training and observation within the 5 weeks, and all background checks must be completed and cleared in order to be sworn in as a CASA.

Spring Traditional Training: May 29 – June 28, Tuesdays and Thursdays 5:30 – 9:00 pm

Tuesday, May 29: The CASA Volunteer Role

Thursday, May 31: The Well-Being of a Child

Tuesday, June 5: Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills

Thursday, June 7: Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication

Tuesday, June 12: Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence

Thursday, June 14: Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence

Tuesday, June 19: Commercially Sexually Exploited (CSEC)

Thursday, June 21: Juvenile Dependency Panel

Tuesday, June 26: Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth

Thursday, June 28: Wrapping Up

Additional Training Expectations

Courtroom Observation: 3 Hours of Courtroom Observation to be completed on a Monday during training. A sign-up sheet will be available at the first In-Person class.
Swearing-In Ceremony: Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:00 pm
Attend this ceremony to take your volunteer oath of appointment after completing the training. The ceremony is held at the Juvenile Courthouse at 4353 E. Vineyard Ave., Oxnard. Please join us at the office immediately following the swearing-in for a celebratory luncheon. You are welcome to bring one guest.
Continuing Education: You will be required to complete 12 hours of Continuing Education each calendar year that you are an active volunteer. We offer a variety of trainings to help volunteers complete this requirement.

Download a pdf copy of this schedule.