News & Events

Event Calendar

2018 Winter Traditional Training 2/27 - 3/29

The CASA Traditional Training consists of 10 in-person 3.5-hour classes, reading with some online activities prior to each class, and 3 hours of courtroom observation completed over a 5-week cycle. You must finish all training and observation within the 5 weeks, and all background checks must be completed and cleared in order to be sworn in as a CASA.

Winter Traditional Training: February 27 – March 29, Tuesdays 5:30 – 9:00 pm, Saturdays 8:30 am – 12:00 pm

Tues., Feb. 27: The CASA Volunteer Role

Sat., March 3: The Well-Being of a Child

Tues., March 6: Trauma, Resilience and Communication Skills

Sat., March 10: Mental Health, Poverty and Professional Communication

Tues., March 13: Substance Abuse and Cultural Competence

Sat., March 17: Domestic Violence and Cultural Competence

Tues., March 20: Educational Advocacy, Older Youth and LGBTQ Youth

Sat., March 24: Commercially Sexually Exploited (CSEC)

Tues., March 27: Wrapping Up

Thursday, March 29: Juvenile Dependency Panel

Additional Training Expectations

Courtroom Observation: 3 Hours of Courtroom Observation to be completed on a Monday during training. A sign-up sheet will be available at the first In-Person class.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Monday, April 2, 2018 at 12:00 pm
Attend this ceremony to take your volunteer oath of appointment after completing the training. The ceremony is held at the Juvenile Courthouse at 4353 E. Vineyard Ave., Oxnard. Please join us at the office immediately following the swearing-in for a celebratory luncheon. You are welcome to bring one guest.
Continuing Education: You will be required to complete 12 hours of Continuing Education each calendar year that you are an active volunteer. We offer a variety of trainings to help volunteers complete this requirement.

Download a pdf copy of this schedule.